UE-COGS Stewards: The Backbone of the Union

Stewards are the backbone of UE Local 896 – COGS, serving as the official union representative in departments around campus. All departments should have at least one union steward. If your department steward is not listed below, please contact us at [email protected] If you are interested in being a steward or in electing a steward for your department, contact one of the chief stewards below at [email protected]

Current area* and campus chief stewards:

Campus Chief Steward: Jaclyn Crumbley Carver
Blue Area Chief Steward: Kezia Walker Cecil
Yellow Area Chief Steward: John Jepsen
Red Area Chief Steward: Erik Gustafson
Green Area Chief Steward: Open – Join us!

Current Departmental Stewards

DepartmentSteward(s)Department Steward(s)
American StudiesTaylor HenryJournalism & Mass Communication
Anatomy and Cellular BiologyLabor Center
AnthropologyLearning Resource Center
Art & Art HistoryLibrary
Asian LanguageLinguisticsBill Dyer
Biology Kyle McElroyMath
Biomedical EngineeringMechanical Engineering
CinemaMichael WawzendkNursing
ClassicsJeremy SwistOccupational & Environmental Health
Communication StudiesAlex KochPharmaceutics
Communication Sci. & DisordersPhilosophy
Computer SciencePhysics & AstronomyChristina Snyder
DancePolitical ScienceRachel Torres
EducationPublic Health
EnglishReligious Studies
French & Italian Hadley GalbraithRhetoric
GeographySocial Work
GeoscienceSociologyYujia Lyu
GermanSpanish & Portuguese
Health & Human PhysiologyStatistics & Actuarial Science
HistoryJeremy KinsburyTheaterMargot Connolly
IIHRUrban & Regional PlanningMaggie Richardson
International ProgramsWomen’s Studies
Iowa TestingWriters Workshop

*For stewarding purposes, COGS is divided into different areas in order to better deal with issues around the campus. To find out your area, click her

Leave a Comment