Union Structure

Union Structure

The Members Run This Union!

UE Local 896/COGS is a democratic, rank-and-file Union. Like our national Union, UE, Local 896/COGS doesn’t just depend on the members. It is the members. At all levels of our Union – Local, Regional, and National – democracy dictates. Members directly elect all Officers, Committee Chairs, Stewards, and Delegates on an annual basis. Every major position and policy taken by the Union is debated and voted on by the members. All major expenditures must be approved by the membership. The Coordinating Committee and Bargaining and Grievance Committee are at all times accountable to the membership. Likewise, the members must be and are actively involved in furthering the goals of the Union in order for them to be achieved. This is what we call rank-and-file democracy.

If you are already a UE/COGS member, consider getting involved in one of the committees listed below or running for a steward position in your department. If you can’t make such a commitment, make an effort to attend monthly Union meetings. What every member has to say is important. If you are not currently a member of UE/COGS, talk to your departmental steward or call the COGS office and sign a membership card today. Join the Union and have a voice!

The day-to-day business of the Union is carried out by the Coordinating Committee and the Bargaining and Grievance Committee. The Coordinating Committee consists of the following officers and chairpersons: President, Vice-President, Corresponding and Recording Officer, Financial Officer, Campus Chief Steward, Area Chief Stewards (4), Bargaining and Grievance Committee Member At Large, Unity Officer, International Representative, and the Chairperson of each each standing committee (see below).

The Bargaining and Grievance Committee consists of the President, Campus Chief Steward, Area Chief Stewards (4), and one at-large member.

For stewarding purposes, COGS is divided into different areas in order to better deal with issues around the campus. To find out your area, click here.

Current Officers and Chairpersons (2013-2014)

President: Cathryn Lucas-Carr
Vice-President: Harper Lee Haynes
Corresponding & Recording Officer: Marlis Muschal
Financial Officer: Matt Hodler
Campus Chief Steward: Kelly Gallagher
Blue Area Steward: Kristen Degree
Yellow Area Steward: Noah Johnson
Red Area Steward: Judah Unmuth-Yockey
Green Area Steward: *
B&G Member At Large: Lamar Barber
International Student Representative: Chenthuran Jayachandiran
Unity Committee Chair: Kate Kedley
Press & Publicity Committee Chair: Andrew Desforges
Political Action Committee Chair: Shawn Harmsen
Labor Solidarity Committee Chair: Corinne Teed
Social Committee Chair: Allison Wanger

CGEU Coordinating Committee Co-Chairs: Barrett Gough and Larissa Werhnyak

Trustees: Joshua Pederson, Adam Rugg, and Larissa Werhnyak

UE Regional Council Delegates: Harper Lee Haynes

To contact any of the officers above, call (319) 337-5074 or email cogs@cogs.org

*These officers and committee chairs have been appointed and await election by the membership.